Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Skip to content


Photo of Ray Alf at the entrance of the Alf Museum

The Raymond M. Alf Award for Excellence in Paleontological Research and Education honors a paleontologist who exhibits excellence both in original scientific research as well as in education and outreach at the primary and secondary school (K–12) levels.

1. Research: The award recipient should have a strong publication record within the science of paleontology (as senior or junior author). Research may be within any discipline of paleontology, including but not exclusive to vertebrate paleontology, invertebrate paleontology, paleobotany, paleopalynology, micropaleontology, and paleoecology.
2. Education: The award recipient should have a strong record of contribution to education and outreach at the K–12 level. Preference is given to those candidates who have significant personal involvement, whether as a classroom teacher, lecturer, museum educator, fieldwork leader, or other role.

The award consists of: 1) Honorarium of $1,000; and 2) Award plaque. All travel costs will be covered for the recipient to receive the award in person at the Museum’s annual Peccary Dinner on Friday, October 18, 2024.

A nomination shall consist of a paragraph explaining how the nominee fits the criteria of the award. A curriculum vitae or resume for the candidate should also be included. Nominations may be submitted via email, by external parties or members of the Alf Museum staff and Board of Trustees. Previous nominations are kept on file for consideration. Nominations are reviewed by an award committee comprising members of the Alf Museum Board of Trustees, Alf Museum staff, the Head of The Webb Schools, and Webb faculty.

Award nominations are due by April 15, 2024, submitted via email to:

Dr. Andrew Farke, Director
Raymond M. Alf Museum of Paleontology
1175 W. Baseline Road
Claremont, CA 91711

2015  – Dr. Kent Smith, Oklahoma State University (Inaugural)
2016 – Dr. Thomas J. DeVries
2017 – Dr. Bolortsetseg Minjin, Institute for the Study of Mongolian Dinosaurs
2018 – Dr. Greg Wilson, University of Washington/Burke Museum
2019 – Dr. Tsiory Andrianavalona, ExplorerHome Madagascar Science Center
2020 – Dr. Alexis Mychajliw, University of Oklahoma and La Brea Tar Pits
2021 – Dr. Julie Meachen, Des Moines University
2022 – Dr. Don Lofgren, Raymond M. Alf Museum of Paleontology
2023 – no award

Back To Top