Alf Museum on Facebook Alf Museum on Twitter Alf Museum on Instagram

Seeking Nominations: Raymond M. Alf Award for Excellence in Paleontological Research & Education

Ray Alf Portrait

The Raymond M. Alf Award for Excellence in Paleontological Research and Education honors a paleontologist who exhibits excellence both in original scientific research as well as in education and outreach at the primary and secondary school (K-12) levels.


  1. Research: The award recipient should have a strong, recent publication record within the science of paleontology (as senior or junior author). Research may be within any discipline of paleontology, including but not exclusive to vertebrate paleontology, invertebrate paleontology, paleobotany, paleopalynology, micropaleontology, and paleoecology.
  2. Education: The award recipient should have a strong record of contributions to education and outreach at the K-12 level. Preference is given to those candidates who have significant personal involvement, whether as a classroom teacher, lecturer, museum educator, fieldwork leader, or other role.

The award consists of: 1) Honorarium of $1,000; and 2) Award plaque. If the Alf Museum Peccary Dinner is held in person, all travel costs will be covered for the recipient to receive the award in person.

A nomination shall consist of a one-page letter explaining how the nominee fits the criteria of the award. Nominations may be submitted via email or physical mail, by external parties or members of the Alf Museum staff and board of trustees, and shall be due the spring of each year. Previous nominations are kept on file for consideration. Nominations are reviewed by an award committee comprising members of the Alf Museum board of trustees, Alf Museum staff, the head of The Webb Schools, and Webb faculty.

Award nominations are due by April 10, 2021, submitted via mail or email to:

Dr. Donald L. Lofgren, Director
Raymond M. Alf Museum of Paleontology
1175 West Baseline Road
Claremont, California 91711

The inaugural recipient (2015) was Dr. Kent Smith, Oklahoma State University.
The 2016 recipient was Dr. Thomas J. DeVries.
The 2017 recipient was Dr. Bolortsetseg Minjin, Institute for the Study of Mongolian Dinosaurs.
The 2018 recipient was Dr. Greg Wilson, University of Washington/Burke Museum.
The 2019 recipient was Dr. Tsiory Andrianavalona of ExplorerHome Madagascar Science Center.
The 2020 recipient was Dr. Alexis Mychajliw of University of Oklahoma and La Brea Tar Pits & Museum.